French tips and a review (sort of)

French

For these nails I started by applying Star Nail Deep Smile Well Less Tips, which I’ve had sitting around for a couple years and never used. I wasn’t sure I would like the deep smile line.  They applied nicely, though it took some finesse to get the tip to lay flat (parallel to my short free edges).  Then I shortened the length and filed the shine off so I could apply the Gelish Pink Builder Gel.  I have enjoyed using my ASP Form-A-Nail nail forms in the past, so I decided to give those a try again.  As you can see, they did a great job forming the nail over the tips.  It takes a bit of practice when using these with gel because you have to press and hold them still on the nail while they cure to prevent air bubbles.  It’s a bit of a pain, but less so than sculpting and filing.

Side note: I don’t have a photo of it, but a few days later I did a fill using the nail forms.  First I filed in the cuticle area that needed to be filled, and removed the shine. Then, I used the nail forms to do the fill, this time using Gelish Clear Builder Gel, since I planned to paint over them with Gelish gel polish.

So there you have it – a quick and easy, perfect French manicure.  Honestly, it might have been too easy using these products!  I felt lazy not having to sculpt the pink and whites!

Leave a Reply

